Eagan, MN Contract For Deed Homes


Eagan is a city in Dakota County, Minnesota, United States. The city is south of Saint Paul and lies on the south bank of the Minnesota River, upstream from the confluence with the Mississippi River. Eagan and nearby suburbs form the southern portion of Minneapolis–St. Paul. The population of Eagan was 64,206 at the 2010 census and ranked as Minnesota’s 11th largest city. The sixth largest suburb in the metro area, Eagan is predominantly a commuter town for Minneapolis and Saint Paul.

It was settled as an Irish farming community and “Onion Capital of the United States”.The largest growth in Eagan took place following the relocation and expansion of Highway 77 along with the construction of the new six-lane bridge (with three northbound and three southbound lanes) over the Minnesota River in 1980 and the completion of the final Interstate 35E freeway section southbound from Minnesota State Highway 110 in Mendota Heights to the area where it joins 35W in Burnsville in the mid-1980s. Its northern border is primarily along Interstate 494. Its southern border is about a mile south of Cliff Road. Its eastern border runs primarily along Minnesota State Highway 3. The western border runs primarily along the South bank of Minnesota River. The city’s influence in the region grew when the companies Northwest Airlines (now Delta Air Lines) and Thomson West (now Thomson Reuters) established their headquarters.

Location within Dakota County and Minnesota

  • Rasmussen College
  • Argosy University

Eagan is served by three school districts: Independent School District 191, Independent School District 196, and Independent School District 197. Some students choose to attend public schools in other school districts, as permitted under Minnesota’s open enrollment statute.

High schools
  • Burnsville High School (191)†
  • Eagan High School (196)
  • Eastview High School (196)†
  • Henry Sibley High School (197)†
  • School of Environmental Studies (196)†
Middle schools
  • Blackhawk Middle School (196)
  • Dakota Hills Middle School (196)
  • Falcon Ridge Middle School (196)†
  • Friendly Hills Middle School (197)†
  • Metcalf Junior High School (191)†
Elementary schools
  • Deerwood Elementary School (196)
  • Glacier Hills Elementary School (196)
  • Northview Elementary School (196)
  • Oak Ridge Elementary School (196)
  • Pilot Knob Elementary School (197)
  • Pinewood Community School (196)
  • Rahn Elementary School (191)
  • Red Pine Elementary School (196)
  • Rosemount Elementary School (196)
  • Sioux Trail Elementary School† (191)
  • Thomas Lake Elementary School (196)
  • William Byrne Elementary School† (191) (in Burnsville, Minnesota)
  • Woodland Elementary School (196)

  • Faithful Shepherd Catholic School
  • Trinity Lone Oak Lutheran School
  • Trinity at River Ridge

† Denotes schools located outside of Eagan with attendance boundaries that cover part of the city.

Wescott Library

The Dakota County Library operates the Wescott Library in Eagan. The library houses the headquarters of Dakota County Library.